LinkedIn Steps on Toes After Using Member Pictures and Names

544 views Leave a comment

The professional networking site LinkedIn has got itself into hot water in recent days.  LinkedIn had started using on-site adverts by members to promote various brands and products.  Underneath these adverts there used to be a number of pictures of LinkedIn users, along with a note that stated those users and a number of others followed the person or company that had created the ad.  This did not sit well with the users whose names and pictures appeared without their consent.

So LinkedIn then performed a U-turn and removed the pictures and names from their site.  Now, if you see an ad on the website you will not see pictures and names underneath.  Instead you will see a message that tells you how many LinkedIn users are following the person or company who created the ad.

The change was notified to users within the text of their privacy policy, which was previously altered.  But since most people do not read altered policies – regardless of whether it is good or bad – it is clear that their pictures and names were being used and were upsetting some users as a result.

Now LinkedIn has made the change and kept the user data private once more.  LinkedIn acknowledged that some people “may not be comfortable with the use of their names and photos associated with those actions used in ads”.  At least they have been quick to spot their faux pas and have changed things accordingly.

Author Bio

Tech Guru

Passionate about the latest Technology. I enjoy traveling and Photography.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *